Constitution / Constitucion

A.I.E.P. Constitution

This Constitution was adopted at the Prague Conference held in July 1995.

Article 1
The name of the Association is: Asociación Intemacional de Escritores Policiácos, otherwise known as AIEP. AIEP was established at the International Crime Writers' Conference in La Habana, Cuba, in 1986. This Constitution replaces the one produced at that meeting and later ratified in San Juan del Rio, Querétaro, Mexico.

Article 2
AIEP is an autonomous and independent organisation with no political or religious affiliation, accepting and operating within the cultural and humanitarian principles of UNESCO.

Article 3
The objectives of AIEP are to:

  1. promote, support and encourage the development of works which fall into the crime genre in regions and/or nations where it lacks traditional roots;
  2. collect and distribute information about the genre in various nations;
  3. contribute to the distribution, publication, study and enjoyment of crime writing from all nations of the world through meetings, symposia and conferences and by supporting publications of literary works, festivals and book fairs;
  4. advocate the freedom of expression of crime writers;
  5. fight censorship in all its forms.

Article 4
AIEP is based on individual membership of crime writers throughout the world, and each membership shall be accepted by the local branch. Any writer wishing to become a member must be a published writer in the field of books, movies, television, radio or the theatre. Those who have demonstrated serious activity in other crime writing spheres may also become members.

Article 5
Every member of AIEP is required to adhere to and comply with the Constitution of AIEP and to support the goals and objectives of the Association.
Any member who does not comply with the Constitution shall have his or her rights suspended or shall be expelled by a decision taken jointly by the President of AIEP and the Vice Presidents. All such sanctions must be approved by the Conference, and all such sanctions may be appealed before the Conference.

Article 6
Although AIEP is based on its individual members, each member belongs to one of AIEP's regional branches. Each regional or national branch will add to its regional or national name the words: "branch of AIEP". Each branch will be responsible for producing its own programmes, awards and activities.

Article 7
The highest authority of AIEP is vested in the Congress and the Conference. Delegates and individual members from all branches should try to meet annually to deal with matters of current interest and consider items that will contribute to or develop the Association. Those meetings shall be called the "Conference" or "The meeting of the Executive Committee", except in every fourth year from the founding of the association, which shall be called "The Congress".

Article 8
(as amended, at the Toronto conference, June 8, 2001):

At the Congress, the President of AIEP shall be elected for a term of four years. At the same time, the Vice Presidents shall be appointed by their own constituents. The Vice Presidents represent the various continents (currently Eastern Europe, Western Europe, Latin America, and North America).
When electing the President, each member present at the Congress shall have one vote.
Should the President die, resign, or otherwise be unable to complete his or her term, the Vice Presidents shall communicate with each other and elect one of their number to serve out the four-year term of that President.

Article 9
The President of AIEP shall support the various branches and execute the decisions taken by the Congress or by the Conference.

Article 10
Time and place for the Congress or the Conference shall be decided the year before the meeting takes place. The organising branch is responsible for notifying all members of all branches that such meetings will take place in letters addressed to the Chairperson of the various branches, whereafter it is the responsibility of the branch Chairperson to inform branch members.
At the Conference the year before the Congress, an election committee shall be appointed and in that committee shall be one member (as far as is practicable) from each continent. It shall be the duty of this committee to prepare the election of the President.

Article 11
During the Congress and the Conference, minutes of the decisions shall be taken down by the Secretary/Secretaries appointed for the meeting. The protocol will be distributed within three months after the meeting to the Chairpersons of the regional branches and then distributed to branch members.

Article 12
Awards may be presented in the various branches in accordance with tradition, or whatever is decided in the regional branches. Where suitable, the regional award may be given in remembrance of Dashiell Hammett, since the original idea was to present one AIEP award, bearing his name, each year to a book voted to be the best crime novel of the world. At the Congress or the Conference, the delegates can decide to present an AIEP Grand Master Award to a crime writer, for life time achievement.

Article 13
AIEP shall cease to exist should three-quarters of the member branches so propose in writing, six months prior to the Congress, and if three-quarters of the members present so agree.

Article 14
Should AIEP cease to exist, the Congress taking that decision shall also decide what shall be done with all properties, goods and funds belonging to AIEP. The dissolution of AIEP does not mean that the regional branches must cease to exist as activities may continue on an independent basis.

Article 15
Amendments to this constitution can be proposed by any regional branch, in writing, not later than six months before the Conference or the Congress, which must then approve amendments by a simple majority of votes cast.

Jim Madison Davis

Prof. Jim Madison Davis is the author of several crime novels and several nonfiction books, including the forthcoming Van Gogh Conspiracy. A President Worldwide of the International Association of Crime Writers, he teaches novel and filmscript writing in the Professional Writing Program of the Gaylord College of Journalism & Mass Communication at the University of Oklahoma.



  • Charles den Tex (Australië, 1952) studeerde fotografie en film in Londen, doceerde Engels in Parijs,…
  • In 1988 publiceerde Chris Rippen (Haarlem, 1940) zijn eersteling Sporen en maakte als auteur van…
  • Eva Waiblinger, MSc, PhD (Dr. sc. nat.), is a Swiss zoologist and science journalist as…
  • Prof. Jim Madison Davis is the author of several crime novels and several nonfiction books,…
  • José Latour was born in Havana, Cuba, on April 24, 1940. He started reading at…
  • Jutta Motz wurde in Halle an der Saale geboren und ging in Frankfurt am Main…
  • Kriminalromansekundärliteraturexperte mit einer Vorliebe für lange Wörter, die es nur im Deutschen gibt. Hat Österreichs…
  • Sabina Naber arbeitete nach ihrem Studium in Wien u.a. als Regisseurin, Journalistin und Drehbuchautorin. 2002…
  • Sandra Balzo turned to mystery writing after twenty years in corporate public relations, event management…



While there are some excellent books on writing, the web is also filled with terrific sites on the topic. Now Novel has made an extensive list of the very best writing websites, and they’re organised for you by subject and genre.